The English Teaching Fellow Program

This web site is an archive of the former USIA site as it stood in September 1999, and is now maintained as part of the Electronic Research Collection of historic State Department materials by the federal depository library at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Full-time teachers of English (up to 20 hrs/wk) plus possible materials/test development or teacher training activities are recruited for worldwide assignments yearly (see current list of Fellows).

Assignments are for twelve months, with extensions of up to another twelve months occasionally granted. The English Teaching Fellow Program provides recent M.A. graduates in TESL/TEFL with the opportunity to teach abroad at universities, teacher training colleges, binational centers, or other host country institutions that use English teaching as a means to promote cultural understanding.

Eligibility Requirements:

Benefits include:

The program remuneration is sufficient to support only one person. Dependents travel at the fellow's expense.

Fellows begin their assignments in September, following orientation in Washington, DC.

For a program application or further information, contact the grantee organization:

School for International Training
Kipling Road, P.O. Box 676
Brattleboro, VT 05302-0676
Attn: Dr. Wendy Redlinger

Tel (802) 258-3311
Fax (802) 258-3210

/education/images/flag2.gif (974 bytes)  Return to the English Teaching Exchange Programs page

/education/images/bluebar.gif (109 bytes)



Angola		Lisa Williams		Instituto Superior de Ciencias da Educacao

Bangladesh	Angela Wofford		BRAC

Burma		Peter Quamo*		USIS

Chile		Elizabeth Kavanaugh	Catholic University of the North

China		Joan Matlock		Beijing Normal University

Croatia		Olivia Tate		University of Osijek

Czech Republic	Jeannine Lorenger	Ostrava University

El Salvador	Elizabeth Binnian*	Universidad Tecnologica
(San Salvador)

Estonia		Wendy Wish*		Tallinn Technical University

Ethiopia	Janet Newman		Institute for Curriculum Development
(Addis Ababa)				    and Research

Germany		Diana Poff		Center for U.S. Studies

Greece		Lynn Waldie*		Hellenic American Union

Guinea		Eran Williams		Central Bank of Guinea Foreign
(Conakry)				     Affairs Ministry

Honduras	Tim Mitchell		Binational Centers (BNCs)
San Pedro Sula)

Hungary		Bradley Horn		Miskolc University

Jordan		Michael Hunter		Jordanian Judicial Institute

Kazakstan	Lisa Ponzetti*		Kazak State University

Latvia		Jennifer Summerhays	University of Latvia

Mauritania	Julia Frazier		University of Nouakchott

Mexico		Beverly Shumway		Public Education Ministry
(Saltillo)					 of Coahuila

Mexico		Haynes Collins*		Monterrey Technological Institute
(Mexico City)	

Mozambique	William Adams		Catholic University of Mozambique

Namibia		Kristen Danek		University of Namibia

Nicaragua	Bethany Yackin		Universidad Americana

Niger		Shelly Berkowitz	A. Moumouni Dioffo University
(Niamey)				     School of Mining

Oman		Timothy Cullen		Sultan Qaboos University

Panama		Jennifer Winston	Binational Center
(Panama City)

Peru		Corey Brothers*		Binational Center

Russia		Kevin McKelvey		Department of Education

Russia		Jeffrey Marynow*	Pyatigorsk State linguistics
(Pyatigorsk)				   University

Rwanda		Sara Denne-Bolton	National University of Rwanda

South Africa	Susan Jones*		Educational Service Support Trust

Spain		Rachel Anderson		Institute of North American Studies
(Barcelona)					     Studies

Syria		Sarah Egerer		University of Damascus

Turkey		Michele Rajotte		Bilkent University

Turkey		Frances Hulin		Erciyes University

Ukraine		Gene Edgerton*		Ostroh University (fellowship ended 12/31/98)

Ukraine		Debra Friedman		Vinnytsia Pedagogical Institute	

Uzbekistan	Annie Polatsek*		University of World Economy

Venezuela	Jordi Combs		Binational Center

Vietnam		Merton Bland*		Ho Chi Minh City University of
(Ho Chi 				      	     Social Sciences
Minh City)

West Bank	Donna Linn		Birzeit University


* = Renewals -  12
New Fellows  -  30
Total Fellows - 42 

On October 1, 1999, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs will become part of the
U.S. Department of State. Bureau webpages are being updated accordingly. Thank you for your patience.