Current Until December 1996
Created July 1996


Representatives of 33 States met in Vienna, Austria on July 11 and 12, and established the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies.

The purpose of the Arrangement, reflected in the Initial Elements agreed to at the meeting, is to contribute to regional and international security by:

This Arrangement will not be directed against any state or group of states and will not impede bona fide civil transactions. Nor will it interfere with the rights of states to acquire legitimate means with which to defend themselves pursuant to Article 51 of the Charter of the United Nations.

Participating States will control all items set forth in the List of Dual-Use Goods and Technologies and the Munitions List with the objective of preventing unauthorized transfers or re-transfers of these items.

Participating States have agreed Nov. 1, 1996 as a target-date for implementation of the Lists. Some Participating States indicated that they might be unable to meet this target-date but would make every effort to implement the Lists before the December 1996 Plenary. The decision to transfer or to deny a transfer of any item will be the sole responsibility of each Participating State.

The participants established a Secretariat in Vienna to facilitate the future work of the Arrangement and agreed to a work program that will expand and enhance the Arrangement in ways that will further its central purposes.

Bulgaria and Ukraine were welcomed as new participants and co-founders by Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, the Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The next Plenary of the Arrangement is scheduled for December 1996 in Vienna.