This script changes the color of buttons when they are rolled over.
United States, France, Russia, United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Japan, Canada, European Union
Sea Island Summit 2004 Logo
Summit Home Button About the G8 Summit Button G8 Member Nations Button Summit Security Button Sea Island Summiteer Button Turtle Tracks Button About Coastal Georgia Button Frequently Asked Questions Button Contact Us Button
World Map Media Header

June 4, 2004

Contact: Communications Office
(912) 652-4706
(912) 652-4711 fax

Sea Island Summit Planning Organization Announces U.S. Officials Available for Interviews During the G8 Summit

WASHINGTON, DC - Today the Sea Island Summit Planning Organization announced information about the 2004 G8 Summit to be held on Sea Island, Georgia, June 8-10. The G8 Summit brings together the Leaders of the world's major industrial democracies: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The European Union also attends the G8 Summit, represented by the President of the European Commission and the Leader of the country holding the Presidency of the European Council. At previous Summits, Leaders have discussed a wide range of international economic, political, and security issues.

The G8 planning organization will make a number of administration officials available for background briefings at the International Media Center (IMC) in Savannah, Georgia. In addition to these officials, delegation officials from G8 countries and regional stakeholders in the G8 Summit will also be available for interviews at the IMC.

To request an interview, journalists may access the electronic interview request form at or via email at, or by calling
(912) 652.4706.

Available officials include the following:

Elliott Abrams (Middle East)
Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director
National Security Council
Near East and North African Affairs

John R. Bolton (Proliferation)
Under Secretary of State Arms Control and International Security

Andrew Card
White House Chief of Staff

James L. Connaughton (Environment)
Chairman, Council on Environmental Quality
Executive Office of the President

Glyn Davies (Regional Issues/Peace Operations/Middle East)
Political Director for the G8
U.S. Department of State

Anthony S. Fauci, M.D. (Health)
Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Kristin J. Forbes (Economics)
Member, Council of Economic Advisers
Executive Office of the President

Jendayi Frazer (Africa/Development)
Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director
National Security Council
African Affairs

Robert Joseph (Proliferation)
Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director
National Security Council
Proliferation Strategy, Counterproliferation and Homeland Defense

Alan Larson (General)
Undersecretary Economic, Business, and Agricultural Affairs U.S. Department of State

Constance B. Newman (Africa/Development)
Assistant Administrator, Bureau of Africa
U.S. Agency for International Development

Randal Quarles (Economics)
Assistant Secretary for International Affairs
U.S. Department of Treasury

Dr. Condoleezza Rice
National Security Advisor

Frances Fragos Townsend (Safety/Security)
Assistant to the President and Homeland Security Advisor

During the Summit, a number of U.S. official spokespersons will be available for on-camera interviews, including:

Dan Bartlett
White House Communications Director

Scott McClellan
White House Press Secretary

Sean McCormack
Special Assistant to the President and Deputy Press Secretary for Foreign Affairs

Jim Wilkinson
Deputy National Security Advisor for Communications

Gordon Johndroe
Laura Bush's Press Secretary

Regional stakeholders in the G8 Summit will also be available for interviews, Including:

Becky Bowden
Director of Marketing, Memorial Health

Michael B. Brown
Savannah City Manager

Bucky Burnsed
Public Affairs Officer, Savannah-Chatham Metropolitan Police Department

Max Burns
United States Representative

Saxby Chambliss
United States Senator

Dr. Carl Dohn
Crafted the G8 Summit Table

Bill Donohue
Executive Director, Jekyll Island Authority

Leslie Eagle
Gifted Teacher, G8 County Coordinator, Glyndale Elementary School

Eric Garvey
Senior Marketing Director, Jekyll Island Authority

Angela Hendrix
Director of Public Information, Savannah College of Art and Design

Melinda Jacox
Principal, St. Simons Elementary School

Eric Johnson
Georgia State Senator

Otis S. Johnson, Ph.D.
Mayor of the City of Savannah

Jack Kingston
United States Representative

Zell Miller
United States Senator

Christopher Morrill
Savannah Assistant City Manager

Darlene Moye, Ed. D.
Principal, Satilla Marsh Elementary School

Jamie Parks
Director of Food and Beverage, Savannah International Trade and Convention Center

Sonny Perdue
Governor of Georgia

Sher Pollard
Principal, Glyndal Elementary School

Betsy Ray
Public Relations Coordinator, St. Joseph's/Candler Health System

Bob Scanlon
G8 Project Coordinator

Marelena Smalls
Hallelujah Singers

Doug Smith
President, Digital Image Color Supergraphics

Matthew Stanley
Public Information Officer, Savannah Bureau of Fire and Emergency Services

Frankie Sullivan Quimby
Sea Island Singers

Woody Woodside
President, Brunswick-Golden Isles Chamber of Commerce

Melissa Yao
Vice President of Communications for the Savannah Area Chamber and Convention and Visitors Bureau

Dr. Marie Wilson
Chief Program Officer, Georgia Council on Economic Education

Dr. Robert A. Winter
Superintendent, Glynn County School System

Small Oak Tree